Link Search Menu Expand Document

Logs in SQLFlow


In order to know well about the runtime status of the SQLFlow job, we need to count the number of TRAIN/PREDICT/EXPLAIN/NORMAL tasks over a period of time. For example, using ELK Stack for log query and analysis‎. Generally, such statistics components are implemented by logs.

Logging Libraries

  1. Rolling file to limit the log file size, Lumberjack is the solution.
         Filename:   "/path/to/sqlflow.log",
         MaxSize:    50,
         MaxAge:     15,
  2. Structured log messages for the ease of parsing and analysis, Logrus is the solution.
     import ""
     func init() {
     func main() {
       contextLogger := logrus.WithFields(log.Fields{
         "user": "9527",
       // ...

Combine the two libraries:

import (

func init() {

func main() {
  // Do your staff and logging

Log Formatter

Logs in their raw form are typically a text format with one event per line, i.e. :
2020-03-10 10:00:14 level={Level} requestID={RequestID} user={UserID} event={event} msg={Metric, Result or Details}

RequestID: We use workflow ID as request ID if existed, or UUID instead. With the same RequestID, organizing these logs(events) in order can be reduced to a story; user: The one who submits the SQL; event: The process of the task, such as: parsing; msg: Details.

Log Categories

  1. Statistics log Including traffic and performance information.
    1. Count the requests;
    2. Count the number of TRAIN/PREDICT/EXPLAIN/NORMAL statements respectively, i.e.: 2020-03-10 10:00:14 level=INFO requestID=wf697-s29 user=9527 event=parsing sqlType=TRAIN msg="SELECT * FROM TO TRAIN .."
    3. Count the workflow steps of each phase, such as pending/completed/failed/.. in Fetch() function.
    4. Log the duration of the completed steps by time.Now().Second()-wf.CreationTimestamp.Second() in Fetch() function.

    However, if a client doesn’t call the Fetch(), we’ve no chance to log the duration and workflow steps of each phase. Instead, we can log such information inside the workflow.

  2. Diagnostic log All of the error logs.

Severity Levels

Currently, we use Go’s standard log package in three ways:

  • log.Printf
  • log.Errorf
  • log.Fatalf

We want to keep the three levels, but maps them to the following three log severity levels provided by Logrus:

  • INFO To highlight the progress of the application at a coarse-grained level.
  • ERROR It designates error events that might still allow the application to continue running.
  • FATAL It records very severe error events that will presumably lead the application to abort.

We need this mapping because Logrus can generate structured messages.